Make your own free website on
NewsHdrLeftSpacer.gif (132 bytes)

<Home> <Afghanistan> <Islam> <Literature> <Politics> <Chat> <Board>
Welcome to AfghanManshur.COM
NewsHdrEnd.gif (910 bytes)
AfghanManshur.COM is a site for all the Afghans around the world. Enjoy your visit while you are with us.
NewsHdrBottom.gif (973 bytes)


       Basic Beliefs

Followers of the Islamic faith are referred to as Muslims, a title meaning, "one who submits to the will of Allah (God) or "believer". Muslims belief that Mohammad (p.b.u.h) is the last messenger of Allah (J), who is the only central human figure in  Islam that Muslims have to believe.

Islam had initiated after Gabriel, an angel sent from heaven to bring the first verses (words) of Allah to Mohammad (p.b.u.h) "Iqra (read) ".  The sacred texts of the Muslims, called the Koran, is a record of the meditative utterances of Mohammed that his followers complied after his death in 632 AD. Mohammed never claimed to be divine and is not worshipped as such. In fact, the strict monotheism of Islam will not allow for the worship of any other being but Allah. This monotheistic view took root with Abraham, the great patriarch of the nation of Israel who is considered the first Muslim. Though the Muslims adhere to the authority of the prophets of Judaism and Christianity, they do not look upon Jesus Christ as the divine Son of God, but as a man like any other prophet . Interestingly, followers of Islam do not consider their religion to be completely separate from Christianity and Judaism. Muslims claim to worship the God of the Bible, professing Islam as the ultimate revelation of God.

Dome of the Rock in Jerusalem
Without any concept of a church or priesthood, Muslims reject any kind of hierarchy within their belief system. Rather, the basis of the Islamic faith is the fulfillment five pillars of Islam. The first pillar insists that each Muslim at least once in his lifetime recite the profession of faith, "There is but one God and Mohammed is His prophet. Allah is great and Mohammed is His prophet". The second pillar is participation in the public prayers that occur corporately five times a day. The third pillar is the payment of the "zakat" which is a tax to help the poor. The fourth pillar requires fasting from daybreak until sunset during the month of Ramadan. The fifth pillar requires a hajj, or a pilgrimage, to the holy city of Mecca.